Levensohn Hecht Kigel Kegal

  • Max Levensohn came to the U.S. as “Marcus Kigel”

I’ve already written about the possibility that “the Levensohns were Hechts (Dodging the Czar’s Draft and Confusing My Levensohn Research.”). Now I’ve discovered a new name. Here is an excerpt from Max Levensohn’s arrival record (ship manifest) on September 26, 1893.

KIGEL manifest excerpt

“Marcus Kigel” manifest excerpt 1893

How do I know that Max arrived as Marcus? Because his naturalization papers say so. If you note that number  – “22×6313-12/2/35” – it is an addition made to the original manifest as part of Max’s naturalization process in 1935. As an older man, in his early 60s, Max became a citizen.

Here is his Petition for Naturalization:

LEVENSOHN Max Petition Naturalization

The Petition refers back to his arrival at Ellis Island on the S.S. Elbe, excerpted above. There are some typographical errors on the Petition:  listing him as “Marcus KEGEL” vs. “Marcus KIGEL” on the manifest (or is it HIGEL?). It also says he was married in “Corkington, Kentucky” rather than “Covington,” where he was actually married.

Max Levensohn, briefly

Max was the oldest of three sons in the family, and he had six sisters. Leah, the only one who did not come to the U.S., was possibly older than Max.

According to the Petition, Max was born in 1873 in “Ruzin” – now Ruzhin, Ukraine. His wife, Clara Belilovsky (later, Bell), also from Ukraine, arrived in the U.S. in 1901, when Max was established in Cincinnati, Ohio. He was a cigar maker and owned a small cigar manufacturing company.

In the early 1930s Max and Clara moved to San Francisco, presumably to be closer to more of the Levensohn family. Note that the witnesses on the Petition, above, were Martha Craft and Max Newstat. Both of these were offspring of Clara Levensohn, one of Max Levensohn’s sisters.

Max Levensohn died in 1955 in San Francisco. His wife preceded him in death in 1949.

Max Levensohn and his wife, Clara (gets confusing, doesn’t it? Max Levensohn, Max Newstat; Clara Levensohn, his wife and Clara Levensohn, his sister) left no children. I haven’t found a record of a stillbirth or a birth to indicate that there ever was a child.

I’m always saddened when I research these “forgotten” relatives. I have heard no one living ever refer to them. When I was growing up, I never heard my father ever mention his “Uncle Max,” nor did I hear my grandfather, Morris, mention a brother (even though Morris had worked for Max from time to time, in the cigar making business). I don’t even recall my Aunt Dorothy – the only relative who ever told me about my “California cousins” – ever mentioning Max and Clara.

These records of Max, left behind and dug up in my research, seem to revive his memory, at least a bit. And the mystery of the name, “Marcus Kigel,” adds another clue in my search for the family history.

Here is a photo of Max, from naturalization papers (specifically, from his “Declaration of Intention”).

LEVENSOHN Max pic from declaration

 

 

4 thoughts on “Levensohn Hecht Kigel Kegal

  1. Amy says:

    I know that feeling, and I always feel better knowing that I have recorded their life for posterity.

  2. cici bonfiglio says:

    I remember the name Newstat, my mother Florine mentioned this name.
    My Grandfather Joe rolled the best blintz and mom said it he rolled the best, caused he worked as a child rolling cigars. I wonder if he worked for Marcus in his cigar store?

  3. Michele Marta says:

    Thank you, Vivian, for finding this forgotten relative. I have never heard of him.

Leave a Reply

inarchus

Uncertainty...

docwillblog

PHOTOGRAPHY

Wandering Under the Stars

Roadtrekgirl has a severe case of Wanderlust. The cure ? Heading out to explore the world !

mysterypeople.wordpress.com/

BookPeople's Mystery Bookstore-Within-a-Bookstore, located in downtown Austin, Texas

Brotmanblog: A Family Journey

Adventures in Genealogy

FiveThirtyEight

Nate Silver’s FiveThirtyEight uses statistical analysis — hard numbers — to tell compelling stories about politics, sports, science, economics and culture.

RelativaTree

researching ancestral roots world-wide

Jewish Heritage Research Group in Belarus - www.JHRGBelarus.org

Ancestral Tours | Genealogy Research | Jewish Heritage Preservation

PRESSURE COOKING WITH LORNA SASS

Fast, flavor-packed recipes from the Queen of Pressure Cooking

vivgenealogy

Stories and facts and mysteries from my families.

Philly Reads

Let's Read Together!

Allergy Comfort Zone Discussion Forum

Information, comfort & advice for allergy sufferers

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Fabulous 50's

If you'd like to travel with me, google "Travel Spirit Meetup"

Maybe someone should write that down...

Writerly ways for Family Historians and Storytellers

